The higher-density eight (HD8)

codemap 3

This page identifies the Building Code clauses that are being prioritised for change to facilitate higher-density housing.

The majority of Acceptable Solution and Verification Method compliance pathways are focused on low-density dwellings. Higher-density (i.e. medium- or high-density) building designs often sit outside the scope of these pathways.

Eight clauses of the Building Code – collectively known as the HD8 – have been identified as priority areas for change. Amending these clauses or increasing the scope of the associated Acceptable Solutions and Verification Methods will facilitate higher-density housing.

The HD8 consists of:

  • B1 Structure and B2 Durability
  • C Protection from fire
  • E2 External moisture
  • E3 Internal moisture
  • G4 Ventilation
  • G6 Airborne and impact sound
  • G7 Natural light
  • H1 Energy Efficiency

The HD8 clauses will be progressively amended over time to facilitate higher-density housing, through the annual Building Code system update.

Check out the latest updates to the Building Code

This information is published by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment’s Chief Executive. It is a general guide only and, if used, does not relieve any person of the obligation to consider any matter to which the information relates according to the circumstances of the particular case. Expert advice may be required in specific circumstances. Where this information relates to assisting people: