A1 Classified uses

Housing, communal residential, communal non-residential, commercial, industrial, outbuildings and ancillary buildings.

For the purposes of the Building Code buildings are classified according to type in seven categories. A building with a given classified use may have one or more intended uses under the Building Act. The broad classifications are:

  • housing
  • communal residential
  • communal non-residential
  • commercial
  • industrial
  • outbuildings
  • ancillary

Clause A1 — Classified Uses of the Building Code

Related Determinations

Determinations are made by MBIE on matters of doubt or dispute to do with building work. Rulings are legally binding in relation to each case. Circumstances in one case may differ to others.

This information is published by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment’s Chief Executive. It is a general guide only and, if used, does not relieve any person of the obligation to consider any matter to which the information relates according to the circumstances of the particular case. Expert advice may be required in specific circumstances. Where this information relates to assisting people: