Summary of the technical review programme

About this document

  • Published on 1 February 2010
  • Of interest to Territorial Authority
  • ISBN: 978-0-478-34315-1 (Online)


This document provides a summary of the objectives, findings and recommendations of MBIE Technical Review Programme conducted during November 2008 to October 2009. During this period the reviews of the following ten territorial authorities primarily examined building control systems related to ‘specified systems’, ‘compliance schedules’ and ‘building warrants of fitness’. 

  1. Gisborne District Council
  2. Hastings District Council
  3. Kaipara District Council
  4. Napier City Council
  5. Rotorua District Council
  6. South Waikato District Council
  7. Taupo District Council
  8. Tauranga City Council
  9. Wairoa District Council
  10. Whangarei District Council

This information is published by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment’s Chief Executive. It is a general guide only and, if used, does not relieve any person of the obligation to consider any matter to which the information relates according to the circumstances of the particular case. Expert advice may be required in specific circumstances. Where this information relates to assisting people: