Registration ceremony for new consent authorities

The Department held a registration ceremony and luncheon just before last Christmas to celebrate an important milestone for a number of councils that have recently become accredited and registered as building consent authorities under the Building Act 2004.

Council representatives from Grey District, Opotiki District, Tauranga City, Buller District, Christchurch City, Marlborough District, Otorohanga District and Dunedin City attended the ceremony.

By 15 February this year, 74 territorial and regional authorities had been or are in the final stages of becoming accredited and registered as building consent authorities, with accreditation for the final council due before 31 March 2009.